The built-in database is totally contained in the "data" sub-folder under the folder where data was installed during the Typequick installation.
To save the database, you should shutdown TQServer first. This operation does not need to be done on single machine installations, as closing TQClient and TQAdmin will automatically shutdown TQServer. However, for multi-machine installations, TQServer needs to be shutdown explicitly. In MS-Windows environments this means going to the "Services" application in Control Panel and stopping the Typequick service. For other operating systems, it means running the TQServerStop program which will be in the folder where Typequick was installed.
Once TQServer is stopped, the entire "data" sub-folder should be saved somewhere before performing the uninstall.
When TQServer is installed again on another machine, a new "data" sub-folder will be created during the new installation process. The installation process for a multi-machine configuration will automatically start TQServer again so you will need to stop it after the installation has finished. Once the installation is done and the new TQServer has been stopped, copy the saved contents from the old "data" sub-folder to the new "data" sub-folder and restart TQServer.
Test the new installation by running TQClient. TQClient will realise that you have moved the Typequick installation and ask you to replace the licence(s). Refer to Replacing Licences in the Reinstalling Typequick topic for details.
In the case that you are using your own JDBC Compliant Database, we assume that you are simply moving the Typequick installation, and that the Typequick tables in your database are simply left where they are.
The uninstall process for Typequick does not touch your database and so the Typequick tables will be left intact. You only need to reinstall Typequick and it will see the old tables immediately TQServer starts.
Once the reinstall is complete, you should start TQAdmin. A message box will appear asking whether you want to discard the old tables and reinitialise them, or use the tables as they are. You can elect to keep the tables.
TQAdmin will then realise that you have moved the Typequick installation and ask you to replace the licence(s). Refer to Replacing Licences in the Reinstalling Typequick topic for details.
Top of this page Installation Help Contents